Kriya Yoga

About Kriya Yoga  Kriya Yoga is an ancient Yoga spinal breathing system revived in modern times by Mahavatar Babaji through his disciple Lahiri Mahasaya. Kriya was brought into popular awareness through Paramahansa Yogananda’s book AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF A YOGI and through Yogananda’s introductions of the practice in the West since 1920 and India since 1917. The system consists of a number of levels of SPINAL Breathings based on techniques that are intended to rapidly accelerate spiritual development and engender a profound state of tranquility and God-communion. Kriya Yoga can be practiced by any person at any age. Kriya Yoga (Spinal Breathing) has six phases: First Kriya, Second Kriya, Third Kriya and The Higher Kriyas (Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth). It is wise to practice seriously a phase for at least 6-12 months.


During the period of 1981 and 1992 Daniel Mitel practiced a “spinal breathing” meditation. He later found out that, in fact, he was practicing the Kriya Pranayama of The Kriya Yoga Great Master Babaji (Christ of Himalaya). He would sit for hours in a lotus posture and breathe in each of the seven spinal centers, stopping for few seconds up at the Bindu and coming down to Muladhara. He strongly recommends a combined practice of Kriya Yoga and Tai Chi. It cleans the body and the mind. Combined with certain exercises from Heart Imagery,  it gives you God’s realization.

The Kriya Yoga Masters

Kriya Yoga is the science of controlling life energy – Prana. Kriya Yoga is a technique that activates the astral cerebrospinal centers Kriya Yoga hastens the practitioner’s spiritual development and helps to bring about a profound state of tranquility and God-communion.

Swami Satyananda

Kriya consists of body discipline, mental control, and meditating.


Kriya Yoga brings awareness of the Self.

Lahiri Mahasaya

Kriya Yoga brings you to Christ-Consciousness state.